Oliveras, Chloe JOU4202

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Diary: Week 5

with 2 comments

Interesting week in the lab.

I switched shifts with Kelsey this week, so I got to experience the Friday afternoon shift. Things were a little off because Matt and Ethan weren’t around, but Christina and Mina kept everything going smoothly.

Since Matt and Ethan weren’t there to help us distribute stories, my duties shifted a little bit. When I came, I was the only 4202 editor. Kelsey warned me before my shift that the editing students she worked with on Friday weren’t the most motivated. So I spent a good deal of my shift sifting through audio and working with Elle to make sure we got the material onto the web. I decided that since 4201ers weren’t very “go-getting,” then I would directly assign them stories and hoping to impart some responsibility. For the most part I felt it worked, they came and asked a lot of questions and each ended up finishing at least 2-3 stories by six.

Luckily, Kelsey came in the afternoon, and I didn’t have to do all of the second edits. We decided to do them a little differently, making sure each story went though two 4202ers before it was published. I looked at Sarah’s “In The News, Chris’s “Florida Department of Highway Safety” and  Sarah’s “Decision Day.” Christina also taught me how to use Storify, so I updated the  one attached to the “Decision Day” story.

Not having Matt and Ethan around to ask questions was a little stressful at times, but it was nice to work with my peers and know that we could effectively keep updating. Altogether, it was a fun afternoon.

Written by chloeoliveras

February 10, 2013 at 2:17 am

Posted in Diary

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dorner, 33, is wanted in the alleged killing of two people in THINK ABOUT WHAT THIS IS SAYING. ALLEGEDLY TWO PEOPLE WERE KILLED. YOU CAN TAKE OUT “ALLEGED” – “IN THE KILLING” IS SHORT FOR “IN CONNECTION WITH” – WHICH IS TRUE – BUT WE ARE NOT CONVICTING THE SUSPECT. PLEASE TAKE A LOOK AT: ALLEGEDLY INNOCENT SUSPECTS RE THE USE OF ALLEGE: http://www.poynter.org/uncategorized/69578/word-watch-allegedly-innocent-suspects/
    the man produced a knife – MOST EDITORS WILL TELL YOU THIS IS COP TALK – HE IS NOT MANUFACTURING A KNIFE. HE PULLED OUT A KNIFE, HE DISPLAYED A KNIFE
    Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles investigates email fraud
    PRETTY GOOD, BUT THE LEAD AND SECOND GRAPH COULD BE COMBINED INTO ONE. THAT SECOND GRAPH IS KIND OF ORPHANED ALL ALONE.
    University of Florida accepts 12,000 new students THIS COULD BE FLESHED OUT A BIT MORE – COMPARATIVE TO PAST – BOTH IN APPLICANTS AND ACCEPTANCES – I DON’T THE LINK ALONE IS SUFFICIENT TO DESCRIBE THE INNOV. ACADEMY – NEED A BRIEF DESCRIPTIVE.

    Ronald R. Rodgers

    February 10, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    • I didn’t think we were changing things for the “In the News” blurbs, I addressed this with Ethan two weeks ago and he told me to leave it alone. Also, I originally had a lot of information about the Innovation Academy, but thought it took away from the story. We were highlighting those accepted on Friday, not really what the Innov. Academy is. I felt it was very distracting.

      chloeoliveras

      February 10, 2013 at 9:48 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

