Oliveras, Chloe JOU4202

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Diary Week 1

with one comment

My first day in the Integrated News Facility was anything but unexciting. Having only caught glimpses of the fast-paced newsroom from the glass doors on the second and third floor of Weimer, it was nice to finally come in and join the action.

Upon my arrival, I had the pleasure of personally meeting Matt and Ethan who were kind enough to give me an introduction. They gave me a run down on how the morning was going and what they hoped to accomplish throughout the next few hours; however, because it was Monday morning, and many people’s first day in the lab (myself included), it was hard to know how  the rest of the day was going to go.

After getting me set up with the WUFT login information, Ethan passed me off to Mina who gave me a rough idea of what my shift was going to look like. Mina also showed me how to use the WUFT spread she created earlier in the morning, so that all of the 4202ers could keep on top of the ‘webified’ stories written by the 4201ers.

To get an idea of the flow of the projects, Ethan suggested I ‘webify’ my own story. So my first order of was to write a brief summary for an audio peice about the Move Over law. When I finished, I sent a copy of the story to Ethan who made sure that I was following the correct format and got the gist of what I was expected to do. After he pointed out a couple of things to look out for, I edited the story one more time for anything I could’ve missed and posted it online. How exciting!

By the time I finished, Mina was finished putting the final touches on the WUFT story spreadsheet, so I spent the rest of the afternoon editing (1,2,3) and working on Charmaine’s Archer shooting story so that we could get it on the web.

By the end of my shift, I felt fairly confident in my knowledge of how the newsroom worked.  I definitively found some things (see my compound adjective mistake in the bike trail story) that I need to work on before my next shifts, but I will be reviewing my handy worksheets from 4201 this weekend.

Written by chloeoliveras

January 18, 2013 at 12:58 am

Posted in Diary

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Florida Move Over law requires drivers to take specific precautions when they approach an emergency vehicle’s flashing lights. NOT SURE WHAT YOU MEAN APPROACHING FLASHING LIGHTS – YOU MEAN APPROACHING VEHICLE WITH FLASHING LIGHTS. ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT EMERGENCY VEHICLES PARKED ALONG SIDE OF ROAD?

    in accidents resulting from drivers not abiding by the law. THIS IS A BIT AWKWARD – TRY TO BE CLEARER

    Rasmussen believes the law does deter drivers more as time goes on.

    “A lot of cars do get over, and it’s getting to be a natural thing,” she said. SO, THE IMPICATION HERE IS THAT THIS IS A NEW LAW AND THAT DRIVERS ARE SLOWLY GETTING TO UNDERSTAND THEIR RESPONSIBILITIES. NEED THAT CONTEXT IN STORY.
    Two people are in recovery, — ARE RECOVERING – VERBS ARE STRONGER THAN NOUNS

    At 9816 SW 162nd Terrace in Archer, a small party was meeting in a home TRY TO AVOID USING ADDRESS AT START

    said Lt. Todd Kelly of the Sheriff’s Office public information bureau. COULD WE JUST SAY A SHERIFF’S SPOKESMAN??

    About an hour earlier, Scott had opened fire on Robinson and two others, Wesley Boykin Jr. and Aja Newton. According to police, Robinson ran from the home and was found dead about 200 yards away. EVEN THOUGH YOU HAVE POLICE IN PARAGRAPH – YOU NEED TO ATTRIBUTE THE SHOOTING TO POLICE — LET POLICE ACCUSE.

    ALSO, TALK TO ME ABOUT THE ARRANGEMENT OF FACTS IN THIS STORY.

    Scott was taken into custody around 10:41 p.m. — ARRESTED / AND AROUND AND EXACT TIME DOWN TO THE MINUTE??

    Ronald R. Rodgers

    January 21, 2013 at 1:23 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

